home | travelogue | itinerary | photos | planning | books
Previous Kingdon
Previous Dynasty

Dynasty Notes

The Roman period of Macedonian kings and the Ptolemies marked the end of independent rule of Egypt. With the capital at Alexandria, the Ptolemaic dynasty ruled until Rome finally took control. After this, Egypt became part of the Roman Empire.

Egypt was made a consular province of Rome, administered in the name of the Roman emperor by a succession of imperial prefects. These rulers were appointed by the emperor and reported directly to him -- bypassing the Roman senate. In most Egyptian art, religion, and statuary, the Roman Emperor assumed the traditional role of pharaoh.

Ptolemaic Dynasty Ptolemy I Soter
Ptolemy II Philadelphus
Ptolemy III Euergeter
Ptolemy IV Philopater
Ptolemy V Epiphanes
Cleopatra I
Ptolemy Eupator
Ptolemy VI Philometor
Cleopatra II
Ptolemy VII Neos Philpator
Ptolemy VIII Euergetes II
Cleopatra III & Ptolemy IX Soter II
Cleopatra III & Ptolemy X Alexander
Cleopatra Berenice
Ptolemy XI Alexander
Ptolemy XII Neos Dionysos
Berenice IV
Cleopatra VII
Cleopatra VII & Ptolemy XIII
Cleopatra VII & Ptolemy XIV
Ptolemy XV Cesarion






Ptolemaic Dynasty