home | travelogue | itinerary | photos | history | books


Titulary what's this?
Horus Name Hunuqeni Sekhaensuitef
Nebty Name Werpehti Menekhibkhernetjerunebu Nedjtienhenmemet
Golden Horus Name Sewadjabaqet Sehedjgesuperu Semenhepu-midjehuty-aa-aa Nebhabused-miptahtatenen-itymire
Praenomen Iuaennetjerwymenekhwy "The Heri of the Beneficent Gods" Setepenptah "Chosen of Ptah" Weserkare "Powerful is the Soul of Re"
Nomen Ptolemy (ankh set meri iset) "Ptolemy Living Forever, Beloved of Isis"
Dates what's this?
reigned 221 -- 205 BCE
Predecessor Father Ptolemy III Euergetes
Successor son Ptolemy V
Associated People
Father Ptolemy III Euergetes
Mother Berenice II of Cyrene
Sister/wife Arsinoe III
Son Ptolemy V Epiphanes
Daughter Cleopatra II
Burial Place

Ptolemy IV's epithet, Philopator, means "Father-loving". He and his sister were the focus of a cult, and known as "Father-Loving Gods".

The ongoing wars with Syria had a serious impact on Egypt during the reign of Ptolemy IV. The pharaoh armed native Egyptian troops to successfully attack Syria --although greek historians say that 70,000 people died in the battle of Rafia in 217 BCE. . At the same time, a rebel king Horwennefer took control of part of Upper Egypt (206 -- 200 BCE). Ptolemy's administration pretty much disintigrated as he he lost control.

Despite his success as a military leader, Ptolemy IV was not a good administrator and in fact, his main interest was in building galley ships -- some so large they had 4000 oars, according to the greeks.

On the advice of a courtier, Sosibios, Ptolemy IV had is mother, brother, and uncle killed, most likely to try to retain control of the government. When Ptolemy IV died in 204 BCE, two of his ministers had his wife and sister Arsinoe killed.



Ptolemy I Soter
Ptolemy II Philadelphus
Ptolemy III Euergeter
Ptolemy IV Philopater
Ptolemy V Epiphanes
Cleopatra I
Ptolemy Eupator
Ptolemy VI Philometor
Cleopatra II
Ptolemy VII Neos Philpator
Ptolemy VIII Euergetes II
Cleopatra III & Ptolemy IX Soter II
Cleopatra III & Ptolemy X Alexander
Cleopatra Berenice
Ptolemy XI Alexander
Ptolemy XII Neos Dionysos
Berenice IV
Cleopatra VII
Cleopatra VII & Ptolemy XIII
Cleopatra VII & Ptolemy XIV
Ptolemy XV Cesarion